About Grow Montana Food Policy Coalition

Grow Montana is a broad-based food policy coalition whose common purpose is to promote community economic development and education policies that support sustainable Montana-owned food production, processing, and distribution, and that improve all of our citizens’ access to healthy Montana foods.

Please see our 2020 Food Issues page to review Grow Montana’s areas of focus for the 2020-2021 Legislative Session.

2020 Steering Committee Members

Bonnie Buckingham, Community Food and Agriculture Coalition (Missoula)
Jan Tusick – Lake County Community Development Corporation (Ronan)
Steve Thompson – National Center for Appropriate Technology (Butte)
Lindsay Ganong and Robin Kelson  – Alternative Energy Resource Organization (Helena)
Tracy McIntyre – Montana Cooperative Development Center (Great Falls) 
Kim Mangold – Montana Farmers Union (Great Falls) 
Caroline Canarios and Tai Koester – Northern Plains Resource Council (Billings)  
Gretchen Boyer – Farm Hands, Nourish the Flathead (Whitefish) 
Amy McNamara – Natural Resources Defense Council (Bozeman) 

Grow Montana Food Policy Coalition Coordinator – Maura Henn, National Center for Appropriate Technology 

MCFAC Logo Farm Hands Logo NRDC logo
  NPRC_logo MCDC logo


Grow Montana Food Policy Coalition formed in 2005 to advocate for changes in state policies that would strengthen Montana’s food and agriculture economies. The coalition has since led foods systems research, produced educational materials, and stewarded significant policy changes to support Montana’s food producers.

See a full list of Grow Montana’s efforts from 2005-2014 here.

In 2007, Grow Montana was a prominent member of the planning committee for the Governor’s Food and Ag Summit and produced this video summarizing the state of Montana’s food system.